top of page

Kids Closet


I have had so many questions about the kids closet, that I figured I should do a post about it. As many of you know my kiddos all share a room, well, the baby is still in my room of course, so I needed some amazing closet storage for their clothing addiction. (Can I get away with saying its their addiction? No?) Thankfully their closet is actually the biggest in the house... yes, this closet is bigger than mine... Anyway, I hopped on Pinterest and I ended up finding a couple different closets that I really loved, three to be exact. One simply was just "raised off the ground", one had the shelves going down the sides and one had the cube storage in the middle, I combined all three ideas for the ultimate closet for my kiddos. So I do not remember all the specific details, since we did this several months ago, but I will do my best, I tried to take pretty detailed photos that are relatively self explanatory haha. Anyway, we bought all the pieces used from Lowes aside from the cube storage, which is just two 6-cube storage units(we did not attach the back) and the bins, both from Target. I decided I wanted the bottom shelf "raised" mainly for looks, I knew it would bother me if we had the shelf directly on the ground or none at all, which really both options are doable. (tip - we built directly on top of the carpet, don't be us, cut the carpet out, will be SO much easier to level out, and then the carpet will cover up where the wood doesn't actually meet the floor, if you look hard enough at the photos, you may see the couple spots that happened to us.) I believe we used primed 1x2's for the front pieces and honestly I do not remember what kind of wood we used under the shelf for support, I think 2x4 and 1x2 pieces. The cube storage is screwed right into that bottom shelf. The next shelf is sandwiched between both cube storage units with another shelf at the very top. Then, because I knew I would need even more storage, I had the hubby add shelves down the interior sides in between the main shelves. They are about the same distance apart as the cube storage shelves. They are simply supported with 1x2 pieces. The closet walls are painted white so that it appears as one whole unit, plus I love a bright clean white. This system has worked out great so far. Kolton has the bottom left, and 5 of the bins on the bottom, Taylie has the top left and one bin on the bottom, and Kenna has both top and bottom on the right, and all 6 bins on top(Kenna has a love of clothing like her mommy). The remainder of Taylie's clothing is in a dresser in the room. The shelves change relatively often but mainly hold shoes, blankets, & hats. The very top shelf is where I store most of what I decided to keep of my photography props after closing my business, since I still photograph my family and friends when they ask. This closet seriously makes me so happy. I love clothing and organization, put the two together and I'm in love!










2 comments
bottom of page